The Inaugural Precision Ophthalmology Conference 2016 Is a Wrap



On December 9-10, the Edward S. Harkness Eye Institute of Columbia University Medical Center launched its inaugural Precision Ophthalmology™ 2016 Conference. Designed as a comprehensive update on innovations in the diagnosis and management of glaucoma, retinal disease, and corneal/anterior segment disease, the event was held at the Heart Conference Center, Vivian and Seymour Milstein Family Heart Center at NewYork- Presbyterian Hospital.

The day-and-a-half-long, course offered Continuing Medical Education credits and attracted ophthalmologist from across the country for the event which featured faculty from Columbia University Medical Center and other national programs, from locations both near and far.

Presentations provided conference-goers exposure to technique-based forums with ophthalmology innovators. The more than 130 event participants received valuable information aimed at improving patient outcomes and broadening the scope of ophthalmic practice, as touted in the course tagline: “Applying Science to Improve Care.”

Three prominent, national ophthalmologist presented keynote addresses as part of CUMC’s Named Lectureship series as part of the conference agenda. The Arthur Gerard DeVoe, MD, Lectureship was delivered by Henry J. Kaplan, MD, Evans Professor of Ophthalmology Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science, Director, Kentucky Lions Eye Center University of Louisville, Kentucky; The John H. Dunnington, MD, Lectureship was offered by Ronald R. Krueger, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology, Medical Director, Department of Refractive Surgery Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic, Ohio; and, the Max Forbes, MD Lectureship was presented by Harry A. Quigley, MD, Professor, of the Wilmer Eye Institute, The Johns Hopkins Hospital Baltimore, Maryland.

Serving as event leadership, George A. Cioffi, MD, the Jean and Richard Deems Professor and Chair, Ophthalmology was the event chair.  Jeffrey M. Liebmann, MD, Shirlee and Bernard Brown Professor and Director, Glaucoma Division; Leejee H. Suh, MD, Miranda Wong Tang Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Director, Cornea & Refractive Surgery Division; and Tongalp H. Tezel, MD, Chang Family Professor of Ophthalmology and Director, Vitreoretinal Division were among the co-chairs on the program committee.

The event was supported by The Columbia Ophthalmology Alumni Society, The Edith C. Blum Foundation, and unrestricted educational grants from the following:

  • Aerie Pharmaceuticals, Inc
  • AbbVie Inc
  • Alcon
  • Allergan
  • Genentech, Inc
  • Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc
  • Santen Pharmaceutical Co, Ltd.

Exhibitors included:

  • Alcon
  • Allergan
  • Bausch & Lomb Incorporated
  • Bio-Tissue
  • Dutch Ophthalmic USA
  • Glaukos Corporation
  • NovaBay Pharmaceuticals, Inc
  • Novartis Alcon Pharmaceutical

A Continuing Medical Education activity (CME), learning objectives for the event were to enable participants become better able to: formulate an evidence-based approach to optimize the diagnosis of ophthalmic disorders; analyze the role of imaging innovations in the diagnosis and ongoing management of ophthalmic disorders; develop evidence-based pharmacologic treatment plans for patients with ophthalmic disorders who are candidates for drug therapy; describe safety and efficacy data for emerging pharmacologic treatments for a variety of ophthalmic disorders; and, compare the safety and efficacy of innovative ophthalmic surgical techniques with those of traditional techniques.

The program was managed by MedEdicus, LLC, a global provider of continuing medical education and disease awareness programs.

For full speaker and endowed lectureship details, abstracts of works presented, and CME information, download the conference workbook.


Precision Ophthalmology Photo Album


Photos by Noelle Vallet, Ophthalmology Photography and Imaging